Day 4: Doorways

Sugar's

I admit, I did not take this photograph today. I took it on October 24th, 2009 when I was visiting friends and family in the town that I grew up in: Front Royal, Virginia. I took it because I have some of the most wonderful memories in this house… so many years of happiness and love…  and now I do everything I can to hold on to the memories that were created here, and to the memory of the woman who lived behind this door – my grandmother, Sugar.

I share this with the world because my father called this evening to tell me that she is very close to the end of her life. I am afraid now that I will not get to see her again before she goes – though a part of me is thankful to not have to witness her dying so that I can continue to remember her smiling in my mind, it is still so painful to be away from her and my family right now.

But I hold on her to her life and everything she taught me with all my heart. She carefully and lovingly molded me into who I am. Without her neverending, never questioning, whole hearted loving support, I  would not be where I am today. She taught me strength, patience, compassion, independence and how to love. She taught me everything she knew,  gave me shelter when I needed it, protected me, spoiled me rotten, inspired me and no matter what, she always allowed me to be ME.

Whenever I am asked the question of who do I consider to be my hero, I always say her name.

Sugar, I send all my love to you and though you are now walking through a different door, one that cannot follow you through, you’ll always be with me in my heart.  Should I not get to see you again in this life, I know we’ll  be together in the next, and I look forward to that day more than anyone can know.

Specs:

Camera: Canon EOS 50D
Exposure: 0.01 sec (1/100)
Aperture: f/5.6
Focal Length: 38 mm

Manual: Page 84, Selecting the AF Mode

Images: Family photos

Addendum: Audrey Ellen Munch (Jett) Simpson, my beloved Sugar, died peacefully this morning around 2:30am.

Sugar, I miss and love you so much. Tell Sam I love him.

~ by amyjett on 11/19/2009.

6 Responses to “Day 4: Doorways”

  1. Amy, this is really beautiful. Wishing you and your family the best during this difficult time…

  2. Amy,

    This was so beautiful and I am sure Sugar thinks so too. She will look down on you and comfort you through your sorrow and she will continue to do so from now on. Amy, you are in my thoughts and prayers and my heart surrounds you.

    Love
    Sheila

  3. Amy,

    I remember going to visit your grandma with you on several occassions. I understand the close bond you had with her, as I shared a similar bond with my grandma. It’s a beautiful picture, as well as a well written sentiment. Thank you for sharing, and I am sorry to hear about your family’s loss. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. What a beautiful memorial to Sugar. We know you were very special to her, as she was to you. You are close in our thoughts and hearts. Take care.

  5. Amy,

    This is so sweet and beautiful! I know Sugar loved you very much and always will!

    Jean

  6. What a lovely tribute to Sugar. I will always remember her and Danielle in the court house just inside the front door to the right. She was a gem. May light perpetual shine upon her always.

    David

Leave a Reply

 
