the last romance

For Will and Bea, I posted this earlier today on Twitter:

“Men always want to be a woman’s first love – women like to be a man’s last romance.” – Oscar Wilde

Later this evening, on this perfect beautiful day, I am going to photograph the wedding of two of the most wonderful people I am privileged to be able to call my friends here in New Orleans. I met Will and Bea through roller derby, but got to know them through parties and outings and holiday gathering and late nights on Decatur street. Bea is always willing to lend me a piece I need for a last minute costume or a laugh on someone’s porch. Will is always willing to give me his advice and a sarcastic joke to make me giggle. Their friendship, patience, love and laughter always inspire me and I am so honored to be spending this special weekend with them while giving them the one thing I know will last with them in their lifetime of love: the ability to visually live the moment… again and again.

Here’s to these two being each others “last romance” forever.

-aj

~ by amyjett on 03/27/2010.

2 Responses to “the last romance”

  1. Awww….

  2. Amy, what an incredible job you have done capturing the essence of Sherri and Will’s wedding – very difficult task when the evening is so wonderful and you just have to trust that the photos will measure up. Well, you mastered it. What a tremendous blessing – congrats. It was a pleasure meeting you. Hope to see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

 
